Board Members

2020/2021 Board Members

Ibrahim Alturki- President

Ibrahim Alturki is a PhD candidate at the University of Cambridge focusing on international commercial arbitration and finance and the coach of the Cambridge team to the Vis Moot. Previously he was a commercial law lecturer at Qassim University in Saudi Arabia where he taught corporate law, international trade law, dispute resolution, civil procedure and private international law among other courses.

Prior to his teaching experience, Ibrahim received a Bachelor degree (Hons) in Islamic Law from Qassim University and an LL.M. (Dist. and Dean’s list) from Georgetown University in International Business and Economic Law with a Certificate in International Arbitration and Dispute Resolution. During his LL.M., he served as a board member of the Georgetown International Arbitration Society and interned at the World Bank.

Mel Schwing Vice- President

Mel is a PhD candidate at the University of Cambridge, researching the rule of law in international arbitration. He is a frequent conference speaker on international arbitration and has published articles on international arbitration in academic journals and bar association publications.

Before coming to Cambridge, Mel earned a JD from Stanford University and an LLM from the University of Melbourne. Admitted to practice law in England, Australia, and the United States, he has worked for leading US and Asia-Pacific law firms, where he coordinated international arbitrations and complex cross-border litigation defences.

Alex Allan –Secretary

Alex Allan is a final year PhD candidate, researching proportionality in case management under the Civil Procedure Rules 1998. Her academic interests extend to all aspects of procedural law and dispute resolution.

Prior to commencing her PhD, Alex practised as a solicitor at Reed Smith LLP in London. She specialised in shipping dispute resolution, including arbitration under the LMAA and Gafta rules and under the Arbitration Act 1996, and international financial and trade sanctions.

Oliver Hailes- Junior Treasurer

Oliver is a PhD candidate in public international law as Woolf Fisher Scholar and Research Scholar of Trinity College, examining the interaction between investment treaty arbitration and sovereign powers under customary international law. Before beginning this work, Oliver studied in New Zealand (Otago), Brazil (FGV) and the United Kingdom (Cambridge), clerked for an appellate judge, practised as a litigation solicitor, and lectured in jurisprudence. 

Oliver is currently editorial assistant for the ICSID Reports, managing editor of the Cambridge International Law Journal, and president of the Trinity Responsible Investment Society. He also teaches LLM workshops in international investment law for the Faculty of Law and coaches the Cambridge team for the 2021 Jessup competition.

Mikhail Kalinin Committee Chair for Lectures and Seminars

Mikhail is an LLM candidate at the University of Cambridge. Before arriving in Cambridge, Mikhail practiced as an associate with Freshfields in Moscow. He focuses on international commercial and investment arbitration as well as complex cross-border litigation.

Mikhail graduated with honours from the law faculty of the Lomonosov Moscow State University. As a student, he participated in the Vis Moot and then coached Lomonosov Moscow State University Vis team for four years.

Allegra De Lorenzo Committee Chair for Communications

Allegra is a senior status BA Hons Law candidate. As a student at Cambridge, Allegra is a team member of the Vis Moot team for 2021.

Prior to Cambridge, Allegra graduated magna cum laude in History and Political Science from Barnard College, Columbia University in the City of New York. Following graduation, she worked as an Advisor to the United Nations for the Mission of the Order of Malta.

Pedro Schilling De Carvalho -Member

Pedro is a PhD Candidate at the Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge (Cambridge International Scholarship/Richard Tee Scholar at Sidney Sussex College) researching Financial Regulation and International Economic Law under the supervision of Professor Eilís Ferran. Visiting Scholar at Harvard Law School (HLS | Cambridge Exchange Link). Research Assistant in Investment and Commercial Arbitration at the Lauterpacht Centre for International Law, University of Cambridge. Mentee of Prof. Albert Jan van den Berg in the Young ICCA Mentoring Programme.

Appointed as Secretary to Arbitral Tribunals under the ICC, CAM-CCBC, and AAA Rules. Former Chief of Staff and Judicial Law Clerk at the 1st Commercial Law Chamber from the São Paulo State Supreme Court, under Justice Cesar Ciampolini Neto. Former Lawyer at L.O. Baptista (Arbitration), a GAR-100 Firm. Bachelor of Laws from the Universidade de São Paulo (USP). Master of Law, with a specialisation in Commercial Law, from the University of Cambridge (First Class Honours – St. Catharine’s College).

2019/2020 Members:

CO-PRESIDENTS Faidon Varesis & Eirini Kikarea
SECRETARY Alexandra Allan
MEMBER Damien Charlotin
MEMBER Ibrahim Alturki
WEBMASTER Uros Zivkovic